3 Reasonable Tips to Make Your Phone Less Distracting

Hello and Welcome!

Welcome back to Easlo's newsletter. Every week, I curate actionable tips to help supercharge your productivity and growth.

Today's Focus: 3 Reasonable Tips to Make Your Phone Less Distracting

Extreme measures often backfire.

I want to share three reasonable and helpful tips that most people can use to make their phones less distracting.

My Phone Homescreen Setup

Tip 1: Hide “unproductive” apps

I’m not telling you to delete social media or Netflix off your phone.

This will likely lead you to another distraction or redownloading it a few days later.

Instead of having the app on your homescreen, hide it away to make it less accessible.

It's dangerous when we subconsciously slip into these distractions.

Make every app you open intentional.

Tip 2: Turn off notification badges

Don't let other people and corporations control your phone usage, your time, or your life.

Set a time and decide for yourself when you need to check your emails, messages, and social media.

I still remember when I first removed badges from all my apps a couple of years back, I instantly felt less overwhelmed.

By starting to take control of your time, you can work towards your goals and the life that you want.

Tip 3: Turn on greyscale filter

You don’t have to leave it on all the time.

Do it when you catch yourself overly distracted.

This will immediately make your phone use less engaging.

I use greyscale mode before bed and keep it on until late afternoon the next day.

Tool of the Week: Raycast

This one is for Mac users.

If you want to access everything faster on your Mac, it’s time to ditch Spotlight search and replace it with Raycast.

You can resize windows, toggle on dark mode, and take application-specific actions all within a search window.

I can promise it will save you a ton of clicks.

Favourite Quote This Week:

“Growth happens when you start doing the things you’re not qualified to do.”

Steven Barlett

You don't magically get to somewhere.

You must start somewhere.

I hope you enjoyed this issue, and I will talk to you soon next week.