3 Tips for a Productive Workspace

Hello and Welcome!

Welcome back to Easlo's newsletter. Every week, I curate actionable tips to help supercharge your productivity and growth.

Today's Focus: 3 Tips for a Productive Workspace

Tip #1: Remove unnecessary devices.

“I’m not going to use my phone, I’m just leaving it in my room to charge.”

This was me before I understood that the mere presence of our digital devices like phones or tablets can drain us, just trying to refrain ourselves from using them or slipping into scrolling on social media.

If you’re working outside, power your phone down and put it in your bag.

But if you really need your phone for work, I suggest using screen time features or installing an app like Opal that can block your social media apps.

Tip #2: Change positions to reset energy levels

I recently learned about the idea of positional variance from a YouTube video by Rian Doris talking exactly about making your workspace productive.

You might already be doing it and experiencing the benefits unconsciously.

Sometimes when I’ve worked long and feel tired in my room, I unplug my laptop from my monitor and head over to my dining table to do some work. And for some reason, I feel refreshed and ready to tackle the next task.

You can skip to the video chapter on leveraging positional variance.

Tip #3: Find your on and off switch.

Find and attribute an action that signals to your mind and body that you’re ready to get started for work and conversely, get off work.

An on switch can be refilling your water bottle, turning on some background music, or for me, flipping my hourglass timer.

An off switch can be pausing your music or timer, changing from white lights to warm lights, or for me, a literal off switch to turn off the fan and lights in my room.

This is a helpful way to get into flow and detach from your work.

Tool of the Week: Texts

Texts help me to consolidate messages from WhatsApp, Telegram, X, and more.

If you’re like me and use your computer primarily for work, you can check important messages quickly without getting distracted as compared to doing the same on your phone.

This is not sponsored but just a genuine tool that I found helpful, it is however a paid tool so I leave it to you if it's worth it.

Favourite Quote This Week:

“Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.”

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

I'm a tech enthusiast who loves trying out new productivity tools.

Sometimes I fall into the trap of thinking, "If I have that, then I can be more productive."

This quote reminds me that it's not about adding more to my workspace to increase productivity, but rather it's about what I can remove and still perform my best work.

I hope you enjoyed this issue, and I will talk to you soon next week.