Why I stopped using the #1 Screen Time App?

Hello and Welcome!

Welcome back to Easlo's newsletter. Every week, I curate actionable tips to help supercharge your productivity and growth.

Why I stopped using the #1 Screen Time App?

I used to use an app called Opal.

It's a more powerful screen time limit app that prevents you from easily bypassing or ignoring the limits, unlike Apple's Screen Time feature.

It worked great initially, and don't get me wrong, the app is well-built and provides much more insight into how you use your phone.

But why did I stop using it?

It began backfiring at some point. I found myself spending more time on social media after work and when my screen time limit ended. It felt like the cravings to check social media had stacked up, and I believed I deserved to spend as much time on social media afterward.

This behavior made more sense when I learned about Wu-wei, which some call "the art of letting go."

The more you resist, the harder it becomes to overcome.

Now, I approach my screen time more consciously. I ask myself why I picked up my phone and if I truly want to spend time on social media right now.

I realised if I view myself from a third-person perspective, I always know the right thing to do.

There will be slip-ups, but with practice in being present and conscious of your actions, I believe our good habits and behaviors can compound into a greater version of ourselves.

If you want to learn more about how I manage my phone use, I’ve just released a full YouTube video here.

Tool of the Week: Endel

A few hours of deep work can yield much more than a day long of shallow work.

I learned this idea in Deep Work by Cal Newport.

If you want to get more done in less time, this is the book to pick up.

Getting into deep work isn't always easy with all the distractions we face today.

Therefore, I turn on Endel soundscapes to tell my mind that we're entering deep work mode.

I'm not sure if it's a placebo effect, but I feel it's been working for me.

Nonetheless, Endel is a great app with one of the best timer features I've seen.

Favourite Quote This Week:

“Missing once is an accident. Missing twice is the start of a new habit”

James Clear

It's normal that we slip up sometimes, but we shouldn't let that become a habit.

I hope you enjoyed this issue, and I will talk to you soon next week.